In celebration of Slim Dusty Day, for which today would have been Slim’s 90th birthday, EMI Music Australia is proud to announce the release of Odds & Sods, an exceptional new collection of hard to get vintage Slim Dusty recordings. This special set will be released on Friday August 4 2017 and is available for pre-order now from here.
Released as a 5CD set containing 130 tracks in a special hardback book, the packaging includes photos from across Slim’s career and is being made available for a limited time. The front inside panel features liner notes from Joy McKean, (Slim’s wife, manager and co-songwriter), as she shares the story behind the album title. Working in a record store in the late 1940’s McKean noticed a colleague replacing her “Miscellaneous” titled section with the sign “Odds & Sods”. “This girl persisted with her re-labelling my beloved Miscellaneous selection as Odds and Sods,” says McKean, “and I was just as persistent in altering it back each and every time I returned to work. It took a minor explosion between my co-worker and myself to finally remedy the issue. Happy to say I won the battle.” But she has now come to love the term, enough to name this collection of songs after it!
Odds & Sods is a much varied collection of recordings, all harvested from Slim’s early 78’s, 7” singles, EP’s and unavailable compilation albums. Many of the tracks have been out of print for a while but the continued requests for these songs from fans have spurred on this new collection.
For the Slim Dusty fan it’s an exciting re-discovery and for new fans it is a first discovery of some of Slim’s early and lesser known songs.
See the complete track Listing below.
Also being announced today is an exciting new range of merchandise. Designed by EMI Music and Slim Dusty Enterprises the new Signature Range features a selection of polo shirts, a cap, a visor and a t-shirt. Designed in men’s & ladies sizes and in various colours, the clothing is high quality grade material to represent the quality and durability that Slim appreciated on the road. Other new merchandise includes a 1000 piece jigsaw puzzle and an Old Purple car keyring. The new merchandise range is available now from www.slimdustymusic.com.au and for visitors to the Slim Dusty Centre in Kempsey.
Odds & Sods is available to pre order now from the Slim Dusty website: https://SlimDusty.lnk.to/OddsAndSods
The new merchandise range is available now: http://www.slimdustymusic.com.au/store/merchandise

Odds & Sods Track Listing:
CD1 1957-1961

  1. Where The Western Clouds At Sunset Turn To Gold
  2. Tiny Blue Shoe
  3. You Stepped Out Of Line
  4. That’s A Sad Affair
  5. Silver Spurs
  6. Hello & Goodbye
  7. My Journey Home (It’s Never The Same)
  8. Sunny Southern Sue
  9. If Those Lips Could Only Speak
  10. Aussie Dog House Blues
  11. No Good Baby
  12. Wedding Bell Blues
  13. Fair Dinkum
  14. There’s A Rainbow ‘Round My Memories
  15. I Don’t Want No Woman Around
  16. If You Walk Out That Gate
  17. My Home On The Sunburnt Plains
  18. Old Home Week
  19. The Boys Who Never Returned
  20. Big Moon
  21. I’ll Take Mine Country Style
  22. Mother’s Wedding Band
  23. Movin’ Away
  24. Showers Of Blessings
  25. You’ve Got The Cleanest Mind
  26. My Pal Alcohol

CD2 1961-1964

  1. The Happiest Days Of All
  2. I Want A Pardon For Daddy
  3. Mother, The Queen Of My Heart
  4. Highway Blues
  5. Grasshopper Loose In Queensland
  6. Leaning Post
  7. Return Of The Stockman
  8. Sweet Talking Girl
  9. The Arajoel Waltz
  10. The Rose In Her Hair
  11. Train Whistle Blues
  12. Lonely, Lonesome Blues
  13. Never Mind
  14. Road Trains
  15. Don’t Fool Around Anymore
  16. The Ace Of Hearts
  17. This Chap Who Knows A Lot
  18. Where The Golden Sliprails Are Down
  19. Life Is Like A River
  20. Just Going Home
  21. Don’t Laugh In The Face Of Father Time
  22. The Faded Coat Of Blue
  23. Way Out There
  24. Wild Rugged Land That I Love
  25. Pay Day At The Pub
  26. Maple Sugar Sweetheart

CD3 1964-1968

  1. Teenage Country Style
  2. I Haven’t Changed A Bit
  3. If We Only Had Old Ireland Over Here
  4. The Decimal Currency Pub
  5. Dinki-Di Aussie
  6. You’d Better Be Waiting
  7. You Can Never Do Wrong In A Mother’s Eyes
  8. Music My Dad Played To Me
  9. A Friend Indeed
  10. A Rose Of Red
  11. Daddy’s Girl
  12. The Old Time Drovers Lament
  13. Happy Jack
  14. Night Watch Blues
  15. Slow Down
  16. The Desert Lair
  17. You Took The Joy Out Of Livin’
  18. We’ll Have To Stick Together
  19. A Certain Kind Of Gold
  20. The Min Min Light
  21. The New Australian Bushman
  22. Roadliner
  23. Brigalow Bill
  24. Song Of The West
  25. Many Mothers
  26. If I Only Had A Home Sweet Home

CD4 1968-1974

  1. I’ve Been Talking To Grannie
  2. Little Old One Horse Pub
  3. My Son
  4. Ah, Forget It
  5. I Heard The Bluebird Sing
  6. Last Train To Nowhere
  7. Sweet Thang
  8. The Sunset Years Of Life
  9. Big Time (Just Because You’re In Deep Elem)
  10. City Brother
  11. Rodeo Riders
  12. Sniff The Digger’s Dog
  13. The Cunnin’ Roo Shooter
  14. Where The Desert Flowers Bloom
  15. Just Lovin’ You
  16. The Drunkard
  17. The Ballad Of Henry Lawson
  18. Guess Who Felt Silly?
  19. I’ve Got That Lonesome Feeling
  20. Mississippi Delta Blues
  21. Country Livin’
  22. Jesus Takes A Hold
  23. Redwing
  24. Sadness And I Wander Home
  25. I Broke A Promise
  26. Streets Of Sydney

CD5 1974-1999

  1. Anywhere I Am
  2. I’ll Come Around
  3. My People
  4. Spanish Pipe Dream
  5. Talk About The Good Times
  6. Althea
  7. This Country Of Mine
  8. Closest Thing To Freedom
  9. You’re Still On My Mind
  10. I Don’t Sleep At Night
  11. Carry My Own Guitar
  12. Coming Down The Barkly
  13. Goldrush Country
  14. The Pub That Doesn’t Sell Beer
  15. Kilometres Are Still Miles To Me
  16. The Boxing Kangaroo
  17. God Will Prevail
  18. Where I’d Sooner Be
  19. Larrikin’s Landing
  20. Mad Joe The Fisherman
  21. I Need To Find A Place
  22. Mitchell Grass
  23. The Drovers Are Back
  24. Another Night In Broome
  25. Morning Comes Early
  26. Leaving Only Dust