SLIM TURNS THE TABLES YET AGAIN! Slim Dusty's classic 100th album LOOKING FORWARD LOOKING BACK to be released on a Limited Edition VINYL LP

Release date June 10

Over his long career Slim Dusty sold hundreds-of-thousands of vinyl albums, so it is fitting to again see Slim riding the crest of the current vinyl revival wave. Following the success of last year’s The Den Tapes vinyl LP (and CD) release, on June 10 EMI /Universal Music will release Slim Dusty’s iconic  Looking Forward Looking Backalbum as  a LIMITED EDITION vinyl LP with a special gatefold sleeve packaging.

This will be the very first time this multi-platinum album has been made available on vinyl (only available previously on CD and cassette). The Looking Forward Looking Back album originally released in 2000 was a landmark album in so many ways for Slim. Not only was it a historic album for Slim being his 100th album release, but it was also such a huge success album for the 73 year old Aussie ‘King of Country’. The album achieved Top 5 success in the ARIA mainstream /pop chart (and #1 in the ARIA Country Chart), triple Platinum album sales and led to Slim winning his first ARIA Album Award (2001 ‘Best Country Album’ Award). Slim had previously been presented with ARIA’s prestigious Hall of Fame Award and the Special Achievement Award.

Back in 2000, Looking Forward Looking Backwas celebrated with a special Channel 9 This Is Your Life event presentation by Mike Munro. Remarkably this was the second time the show’s producers had honoured Slim with a This Is Your Life tribute (the first was back in 1974). Looking Forward Looking Back celebrated a freshness and new diversity for Australia’s Country Music scene both in its writing style and musicality. The album featured a powerful duet with another country music star, Kasey Chambers (on the track Matilda No More). As well as featuring Slim’s own songs the album include an eclectic selection of songs written for Slim by Don Walker (Cold Chisel), Norma O’Hara Murphy, Eric Bogle, Peter Denahy, Kevin ‘Bloody’ Wilson and of course Slim’s wife Joy McKean.

This special vinyl release commemorates 13 years since Slim’s passing and reflects on the strong legacy Slim left behind for Australia, one which endures through his music and through the recently opened Slim Dusty Centre (in Kempsey, NSW). This year would have been Slim’s 89th birthday on June 13 (a date many now affectionately refer to as ‘Slim Dusty Day’). Coincidently, many years ago Slim had adopted “13” as his lucky number and it seems appropriate that this special Limited Edition vinyl release captures and celebrates these milestones and events.

The limited edition Looking Forward Looking Back vinyl is available to pre-order now from the Slim Dusty website and all good music stores:

Slim Dusty Website:


Looking Forward Looking Back tracklist:


  1. Looking Forward Looking Back
  2. Never Was At All
  3. There’s A Rainbow Over The Rock
  4. Matilda No More (with Kasey Chambers)
  5. The Bloke Who Serves The Beer
  6. Paddy William
  7. Clean Up Our Own Backyard


  1. Old Time Country Songs
  2. A Bad Day’s Fishing
  3. Port Augusta
  4. Good Heavens Above
  5. Hooks & Ride
  6. Keela Valley Coals
  7. Memories and Dreams
  8. Looking Forward Looking Back (reprise)

Check out the biggest and best tracks from Slim Dusty – all on the one playlist HERE